Head over to the Messages application on the iPhone or iPad. Open the conversation which contains a message that requires editing. There are two things that users should keep in mind. Firstly, the message editing feature works for up to 15 minutes after the message is sent. Secondly, the messages that are changed by users are marked ‘edited.’ Additionally, if a user edits a message using iOS 16, the changes will not be visible to users with the older versions of iOS. Similarly, from the same drop-down menu, users can unsend a message.
Apple customers are afraid that the ability to modify and delete texts on iOS might be abused. More information on the feature and the issue may be found here. Apple is ready to release iOS 16 with a plethora of new features for iPhone owners. iPhone users, for example, will be able to change their texts after they have been sent. They will also be able to delete or unsend messages. Users are concerned, however, about how the features could be abused because they allow users to completely change or unsend the message that someone sends, which could be used for nefarious purposes. Let’s talk about the features.
As per a report by Apple Insider, users are concerned whether the editing and unending of messages can be misused. The report also mentions that some users are concerned that the company has “overstepped” its boundaries as a feature that allows users to edit or unsend a message does not take care of user privacy or security. Jennifer Nielsen of Nielsen Law points out on Twitter that many individuals rely on text messages as evidence in litigation. She advises users to disable iMessage on their Apple devices as it will prevent other users from editing or deleting the messages that they have sent. Nielsen highlights that text messages are very important when it comes to diverse and child custody cases and the ability to edit them after sending allows individuals to tamper with potential evidence. Stay tuned for more updates on iOS 16 and other Apple news.