As described by Google, the change adds a “Snooze action button to the Mute Notifications.” That’s the notifications option shown during screen sharing. That new option stops future notifications from showing up. And it keeps it that way until the screen sharing session is stopped. After the screen sharing session is closed out, all of those notifications will be available, with new ones popping up again. The most obvious use-case for this new feature is screen sharing for meetings. Or other work related tasks. And that’s not just for the obvious privacy reasons — it’s not always a good idea to share content from incoming notifications with everybody users might share their screen with.
Google is currently developing a method to prevent Chrome notifications from appearing during screen-sharing sessions. According to a recent report from Android Police, which describes a modification to the Chromium Gerrit code repository, such is the case. On closer inspection, the modification is very simple. It alters how notifications are silenced during screen-sharing sessions in practise. Users will now have the option to snooze those, even when their content is already buried.
This will also be great for users looking to stay on topic and on task during presentations of just about any kind. Since Chrome won’t even be notifying users about notifications, let alone showing blank notifications Now, as noted by the source, the flag needed to turn on the new snooze feature for Google Chrome notifications during screen sharing isn’t ready yet. In fact, it isn’t even in the experimental Canary Channel yet. It should arrive there within the next few updates. But, digging deeper into the code underneath the change, it isn’t just coming to Windows or Mac either. Android and Chrome OS are also among the operating systems shown.