Epic’s Free Game Today is a reverse roguelike

Epic's Free Game Today is a reverse roguelike

Tech Highlights:

  • Loop Hero is a roguelike RPG, but rather than playing the hero, you’re placed in the role of dungeonmaster, watching a little warrior (or thief, or necromancer, as you unlock additional classes) plod around a track floating in the midst of an undifferentiated black abyss. As the little fighter journeys round and round, you’ll pick up new tiles to place down that give shape to the landscape. Each one has different effects, with some granting benefits and others spawning monsters, and your job is to modulate the difficulty such that your hero gets just enough of a challenge so that they’re properly leveled when they meet the area boss.

  • We’re well into the holiday season, which means it’s time for another Epic Games free PC game. Loop Hero, a reverse roguelike, is now one of the year’s most innovative RPG games. To claim your copy and begin your quest to rebuild a shattered world, you have until tomorrow at 8 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. ET / 4 p.m. GMT.

The lo-fi Amiga-style graphics and chiptune soundtrack might lull you into thinking Loop Hero is a simple game, but don’t be fooled: there’s a lot of complexity here, and plenty to discover. Tiles often have hidden synergies that magnify their effects or change neighboring tiles, and each class demands a different approach to leveling and enemy placement.

 

 

 

 

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Tech Reviews, News and Guides
      Logo