A Google upgrade has triggered a warning to Android phone owners

A Google upgrade has triggered a warning to Android phone owners

Tech Highlights:

  • The privacy information in Android 12 is based on the permissions you allow in the apps on your device, such as the camera, microphone, location and contacts. However, some apps need access to these to work. The new privacy update by Google was added to increase the permission transparency. How do I change my privacy settings? By going into ‘Settings’ and ‘Privacy’ on your phone, and then opening ‘Privacy Dashboard’, you can see what apps are being used. It is vital that Android users with this update check their microphone and camera access, which can be switched off instantly, through their Privacy Dashboard.

  • Android users are being asked to adjust their phone’s privacy settings following concerns that a new update may make their devices susceptible. Google introduced the Android 12 operating system in October 2021, with the corporation introducing additional privacy and security features. The latest update allows applications that haven’t been used in a while to “hibernate,” making data location less precise. Because Google is notorious for targeting advertising based on personal data, Android users should take precautions to protect their private data.

It is possible to delete your advertising ID where apps can link data to your device and build a profile of personalised ads. To limit your personalised ads, go to ‘Settings’, ‘Privacy’, ‘Ads’ and delete ‘advertising ID’. Adverts will still appear on your phone, but they will not be personalised. Android privacy options are mostly in the Settings app, which can be changed through toggles. By turning off the location history in the privacy menu, you can limit the amount of information Google collects from you.

 

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Tech Reviews, News and Guides
      Logo